Real Life Learning by Greydon

One of the advantages of Innovations is that it allows students to integrate elements of their lives into their school work. On our mini farm, it is often my job to milk the goats. Occasionally, our doe will grow impatient on the milk stand and step in the bucket. The milk is no longer fit for human consumption, however it is still perfect for making soap. My project investigated the chemistry behind goat soap. I explored the acid and base reaction between milk and  lye. It was interesting to write out the chemical formula and then experience the chemical reaction firsthand. Since this was an exothermic reaction, I actually felt the release of heat. The best part is that I now have a lifetime supply of soap.

My goat soap video is unique in that it is one of the few on the web that highlight the chemistry involved in soap making.  This project was my first tutorial. I enjoyed exploring a new form of video presentation. I feel that that viewers will be able to learn from this video as it is informative and shows the process in depth.

Leave a comment